Detroit Free Press columnist Mark W. Smith takes a look at the various changes to social-networking site Facebook and has tips for protecting the privacy of your personal information:
It’s been a dizzying month for Facebook users.Â The social network has made its most aggressive set of changes ever in the last few weeks.Â New features like theÂ Ticker â€” a real-time feed of activity from your friends â€” have raised eyebrows among Facebook users.Â And then last weekÂ Facebook unveiled Timeline, which brings long-forgotten archived posts to the surface and makes them easier to see. […]
3. Check a post’s security level before commenting. There is a small icon under each item in your news feed. Hover over that to see who can see the post.
The globe icon means the update is public and viewable by anyone on the Web. There is also an icon for updates viewable only to friends and to custom lists of people.
4. Be extra mindful when commenting on a public post. Any comment you leave on a status update will be sent to the Tickers of every person on your friend list.
All posts from fan pages are public. […]
8. With its new class of apps, Facebook is looking for “frictionless” experiences. This means that you’ll see fewer dialog boxes asking if you’d like to publish a certain kind of activity to your newsfeed.
When you first set up an app, such as music streaming service Spotify, it will ask for your permission to access your information and let you set that behavior to public or friends-only. You can also define a more specific list of friends to have access to that information.
But then you won’t be asked again. It will become much easier to forget which apps are broadcasting your activity. After Spotify is given permission, each song you listen to (even the occasional embarrassing one) will be broadcast to Facebook.
9. Subscribers are people who sign up to receive your public posts in their news feed. If you’ve enabled this, anyone who adds you as a friend will automatically first become a subscriber. If you confirm the friend request, the person will be elevated to “friend.” If you turn down the friend request by clicking “Not now,” that person will still remain subscribed to your public posts.